Bach/Godowsky – Unaccompanied cello suites (Michael Nanasakov)


1) Suite No.2 D minor: I. Prelude
2) Suite No.2 D minor: II. Allemande
3) Suite No.2 D minor: III. Courante
4) Suite No.2 D minor: IV. Sarabande
5) Suite No.2 D minor: V. Menuet I
6) Suite No.2 D minor: VI. Menuet II
7) Suite No.2 D minor: VII. Gigue
8) Suite No.3 C major: I. Prelude
9) Suite No.3 C major: II. Allemande
10) Suite No.3 C major: III. Courante
11) Suite No.3 C major: IV. Sarabande
12) Suite No.3 C major: V. Bourree
13) Suite No.3 C major: VI. Bourree II
14) Suite No.3 C major: VII. Gigue
15) Suite No.5 C minor: I. Prelude
16) Suite No.5 C minor: II. Fuga
17) Suite No.5 C minor: III. Allemande
18) Suite No.5 C minor: IV. Courante
19) Suite No.5 C minor: V. Sarabande
20) Suite No.5 C minor: VI. Gavotte I
21) Suite No.5 C minor: VII. Gavotte II
22) Suite No.5 C minor: VIII.Gigue
23) Schubert/Godowsky: Passacaglia

In stock


This article can be switched to the following languages: 日本語

Based upon “Cellists’ bible” Bach’s unaccompanied cello suites no.2, 3, and 5, Godowsky relatively freely transcribed them. May they make cellists anger?  Nanasakov cut some banal repeats. As an additional but long track, the CD contains Passacaglia on the theme of Shubert’s uncompleted symphony (14’30”).

About Godowsky

As pianist-composer, Godowsky was a restless person in the late 19th to the early 20th century. Although he was a self-taught pianist, only few can be comparable. That’s why he was called “The Pianists’ Pianist” or “King of the pianists”.

His uniqueness of the composition is its very elaborated and complex counterpoints which even those who have small hands can play. Once Rachmaninoff said, “Godowsky is the only musician of this age who has given a real, lasting contribution to the development of the piano”. His innovative and complex fingering made ordinary pianists turn away from his pieces, but recently ambitious pianists play them in concerts or recordings.

Who is Michael Nanasakov?

The first VIRTUAL pianist of the world who plays unplayable, ignored or rarely played pieces. The public profile is “Born in Lithuania, Vitrinus 1955”, but actually Nanasakov is a project with a computer and an automatic playing piano by its producer, Junichi Nanasawa. In 1990, Michael debuted with Godowsky’s the complete 53 studies on Chopin etudes recoding. At the period there’s no satisfying recording of them, so he gained a unique reputation with his “super-human” technique.

Additional information

Weight100 g